Featured Product
This Week in Quality Digest Live
Standards Features
Grant Ramaley
FDA seeks to align Part 820 with ISO 13485:2016; why that may not be enough.
MSMEs are encouraged to uphold the highest standards
Steven Brown
21st-century standard candles at NIST
Kath Lockett
ISO standard for the cleaning, inspection, repair of firefighter PPE

More Features

Standards News
Demonstrating a commitment to keeping people safe and organizations running
Making the new material freely available to testing laboratories and manufacturers worldwide
Run compliance checks against products in seconds
Aug. 25, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. Eastern
Could be used for basic performance information on raw materials used in the most common 3D printers
Now is not the time to skip critical factory audits and supply chain assessments
Google Docs collaboration, more efficient management of quality deviations
Program inspires leaders to consider systems perspective for continuous improvement and innovation

More News



Baldrige Helps Health Care Organizations Provide Superior Patient Experience

Award recipients match or exceed competitors’ measures of healthcare quality

Published: Monday, August 10, 2015 - 10:24

(NIST: Gaithersburg, MD) -- The newly released study, “Healthcare Performance Excellence: A Comparison of Baldrige Award Recipients and Competitors,” comparing 34 U.S. healthcare organizations that received the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award with their 153 geographically closest competitors found that the Baldrige Award recipients matched or exceeded their competitors’ measures of healthcare quality and outperformed them in measures of favorable patient experience.

The study, conducted by Ron Schulingkamp of Loyola University New Orleans and John R. Latham of Leadership Plus Design Ltd. appears in the latest issue of Quality Management Journal (QMJ), a peer-reviewed publication of the American Society for Quality (ASQ).

Schulingkamp and Latham examined results data for 39 measures that U.S. hospitals publicly report to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). The 39 measures include 23 for health are processes, 10 for patient experience, and six for outcomes of healthcare provided. The patient-experience results data come from Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Services (HCAHPS) surveys of patients.

The study included all organizations in the healthcare sector that received the Baldrige Award, the nation’s highest honor recognizing organizational performance excellence and innovation, between 2002 and 2011. (U.S. healthcare organizations became eligible to apply for the Baldrige Award in 1999, with the first healthcare honoree, SSM Health Care, named in 2002.) The study’s comparison group included all competing hospitals within a 25- to 50-mile radius of the Baldrige Award winners.

“The HCAHPS patient survey results were the most significant findings in this study,” Schulingkamp and Latham say in their paper. “Hospitals that used the [Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence, abbreviated by the study authors as HCPE] had higher means and lower standard deviations [indicating a measurable positive patient experience] than the non-HCPE hospitals in all 10 measures.” The authors also report that the differences were statistically significant for nine of those 10 measures, showing that there is a definite positive impact on patient experience with use of the [Baldrige] criteria.

“These results add to the growing evidence that the HCPE are a valid framework to align organizational design, strategy, systems, and human capital to create long-term effectiveness in an institutionalized high-performance culture,” the authors noted. They also remarked that the Baldrige criteria provide a systems approach “to excellence as the patient sees it.”

According to Schulingkamp and Latham, better management of the patient experience using the Baldrige framework yields additional benefits for a healthcare organization. They report that favorable patient experience as measured by patients who “would definitely recommend the hospital” has been linked to repeat and referral business and, in turn, financial performance.

Finally, Schulingkamp and Latham feel that their findings have important implications for the future of healthcare in the United States. “The results of this study help validate the effectiveness of the [Baldrige Health Care Criteria] as a framework to achieve performance excellence and meet the continuously increasing stakeholder requirements related to value,” they say. They suggest that the criteria provide “an effective framework for transforming an organization to address the ACA [Affordable Care Act] and CMS changes to healthcare.”

The Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence, part of the Baldrige Excellence Framework, are revised every two years by the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. Purchase the 2015–2016 Baldrige Excellence Framework (Health Care), which includes the criteria, here


About The Author

NIST’s picture


Founded in 1901, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a nonregulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. Headquartered in Gaithersburg, Maryland, NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.