Featured Product
This Week in Quality Digest Live
Quality Insider Features
Jake Mazulewicz
Three tips from high-reliability organizations
Aaron Heinrich
An optimal process requires an innovative control algorithm
Dave Gilson
Getting out of the boardroom for a stroll changes how women navigate
Bob Ferrone
Saving the planet and bolstering the bottom line
Jeanne Quimby
Kids can be the source of new ideas

More Features

Quality Insider News
Reliable, remote visual inspections and diagnostics in hard-to-reach areas
Ideal for dusty manufacturing environments, explosive atmospheres
Optimized for cured tire runout and bulge measurement
With coupling capacitor approach that eliminates the need for an external sensor
High-performance standard and custom silicon and InGaAs photodetectors
Verifying performance of products on tubular disc and cable conveyors
Introducing solutions to improve production performance
How to drive productivity with a universal and powerful 3D inspection software

More News


Quality Insider

Seven U.S. Organizations Receive 2010 Baldrige National Quality Award

Three small businesses chosen for the first time in a single year

Published: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 13:43

(NIST: Washington, D.C.) -- U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke has named seven organizations as recipients of the 2010 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s highest presidential honor for performance excellence through innovation, improvement, and visionary leadership. This marks the first year that three small businesses have been selected at one time, and only the second instance during the award’s 23-year history that a total of seven organizations are being honored.

The 2010 Baldrige Award recipients—listed with their category—are:

MEDRAD, Warrendale, Pennsylvania (manufacturing)

Nestlé Purina PetCare Co., St. Louis, Missouri (manufacturing)

Freese and Nichols Inc., Fort Worth, Texas (small business)

K&N Management, Austin, Texas (small business)

Studer Group, Gulf Breeze, Florida (small business)

Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital, Downers Grove, Illinois (health care)

Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, Maryland (education)

MEDRAD receives the Baldrige Award for the second time, having also been selected in the manufacturing category in 2003.

“Today we honor the country’s most innovative organizations and the people who make them great,” Locke says. “This year’s recipients of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award embody the ingenuity and creativity that characterize the American spirit and drives America forward. Innovation is at the heart of U.S. job creation, competitiveness, and global strength, and the accomplishments of these outstanding leaders are an inspiration to us all.

“This award is unique in that it honors the collective effort of an entire organization that has systematically strived to achieve excellence in all aspects of its work,” Locke continues. “Today’s honorees demonstrate how teamwork and a shared vision can lead not only to organizational success, but also to nationwide advancements in innovation and economic competitiveness.”

The 2010 Baldrige Award recipients were selected from a field of 83 applicants. All of them were evaluated rigorously by an independent board of examiners in seven areas: leadership; strategic planning; customer focus; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce focus; process management; and results. The evaluation process for each recipient included about 1,000 hours of review and an on-site visit by a team of examiners to clarify questions and verify information in the applications.

The 2010 Baldrige Award recipients are expected to be presented with their awards at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., next year.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987 to enhance the competitiveness and performance of U.S. businesses. Originally, three types of organizations were eligible: manufacturers, service companies, and small businesses. Congress expanded the program in 1999 to include education and health care organizations, and again in 2007 to include nonprofit organizations such as charities, trade and professional associations, and government agencies. The award promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies.

The award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 87 organizations have received Baldrige Awards. The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program is managed by the U.S. Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in conjunction with the private sector. The program raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence in driving the U.S. and global economy; provides organizational assessment tools and criteria; educates leaders in businesses, schools, health care organizations, and government and nonprofit agencies about the practices of best-in-class organizations; and recognizes national role models by honoring them with the only Presidential Award for performance excellence. 


About The Author

NIST’s picture


Founded in 1901, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a nonregulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. Headquartered in Gaithersburg, Maryland, NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.