Featured Product
This Week in Quality Digest Live
Quality Insider Features
Jake Mazulewicz
Three tips from high-reliability organizations
Aaron Heinrich
An optimal process requires an innovative control algorithm
Dave Gilson
Getting out of the boardroom for a stroll changes how women navigate
Bob Ferrone
Saving the planet and bolstering the bottom line
Jeanne Quimby
Kids can be the source of new ideas

More Features

Quality Insider News
Reliable, remote visual inspections and diagnostics in hard-to-reach areas
Ideal for dusty manufacturing environments, explosive atmospheres
Optimized for cured tire runout and bulge measurement
With coupling capacitor approach that eliminates the need for an external sensor
High-performance standard and custom silicon and InGaAs photodetectors
Verifying performance of products on tubular disc and cable conveyors
Introducing solutions to improve production performance
How to drive productivity with a universal and powerful 3D inspection software

More News


Quality Insider

First Set of 2011– 2012 Baldrige Criteria Now Online

Revisions include an “intelligent risk-taking” section and use of social media

Published: Tuesday, December 7, 2010 - 06:00

(NIST: Gaithersburg, MD) -- The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program has announced that the 2011–2012 Criteria for Performance Excellence for businesses and nonprofit organizations are now available to download. The criteria serve as the standard for selecting the annual recipients of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, and as a road map for organizations worldwide seeking improved strategy and operations by pursuing performance excellence. The other two editions of the 2011—2012 criteria—for health care and education—will be available on the Baldrige website later this month.

The Baldrige criteria work as an integrated framework for managing an organization. They are simply a set of questions focusing on seven critical aspects of management that contribute to performance excellence: leadership; strategic planning; customer focus; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; work force focus; operations focus; and results.

This year’s revisions to the Business/Nonprofit criteria emphasized two themes: dealing with the increasing complexity of enterprise leadership and management, and improving customer engagement. The criteria now include the concept of “intelligent risk-taking” and an improved “line of sight” set of links that should take an organization from a strategic environment to the execution of its operations in a logical sequence. The category on customer focus has been reorganized to improve the flow of logic and now addresses the use of social media as an important contributor to capturing the voice of the customer.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987 to enhance the competitiveness and performance of U.S. businesses. The award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 86 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

The Baldrige program is managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in conjunction with the private sector.

Paper copies of the criteria will be mailed on request. For more information,e-mail baldrige@nist.gov or call (301) 975-2036.


About The Author

NIST’s picture


Founded in 1901, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a nonregulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. Headquartered in Gaithersburg, Maryland, NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.