Featured Product
This Week in Quality Digest Live
Quality Insider Features
Master Gage and Tool Co.
Why it matters for accurate measurements
Ian Wright
MIT and ETH Zurich engineers use computer vision to help adjust material deposition rates in real time
Scott A. Hindle
Part 4 of our series on SPC in the digital era
Etienne Nichols
It’s not the job that’s the problem. It’s the tools you have to do it with.
Lee Simmons
Lessons from a deep dive into 30 years of NFL and NBA management turnover

More Features

Quality Insider News
Exploring how a high-altitude electromagnetic pulse works
High-capacity solution using TSMC’s 3DFabric technologies
EcoBell paints plastic parts with minimal material consumption
August 2023 US consumption totaled $219.2 million
New KMR-Mx Series video inspection system to be introduced at the show
Modern manufacturing execution software is integral for companies looking to achieve digital maturity
Study of intelligent noise reduction in pediatric study
Results are high print quality, increased throughput

More News


Quality Insider

Commerce Secretary John Bryson Presents Baldrige Award to 11 Organizations

Small businesses and health care groups among recipients

Published: Tuesday, April 24, 2012 - 14:59

(NIST: Gaithersburg, MD) -- On April 15, 2012, U.S. Commerce Department Secretary John Bryson presented 11 U.S. organizations with the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s highest honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence.

The ceremony—the 23rd in the history of the award—honored the 2010 and 2011 recipients, listed with their category below:

MEDRAD (a division of Bayer Healthcare), Warrendale, Pennsylvania (manufacturing)
Nestlé Purina PetCare Co., St. Louis, Missouri (manufacturing)
Freese and Nichols Inc., Fort Worth, Texas (small business)
K&N Management, Austin, Texas (small business)
Studer Group, Gulf Breeze, Florida (small business)
Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, Maryland (education)
Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital, Downers Grove, Illinois (health care)

Concordia Publishing, St. Louis, Missouri (nonprofit)
Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, Michigan (health care)
Schneck Medical Center, Seymour, Indiana (health care)
Southcentral Foundation, Anchorage, Alaska (health care)

The Baldrige Award recognizes role models for organizational excellence—organizations that not only provide outstanding products and customer service, but also do so with ethical, transparent, and accountable leadership, empowerment of employees, and strong support to their local communities. Since it was first presented in 1988, the Baldrige Award, and the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program of which it is part, have grown in stature and impact. The Baldrige Program, the award’s criteria for performance excellence, and the Baldrige Award recipients are imitated and admired worldwide.

The Baldrige Award and the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program are managed by the Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in conjunction with the private sector. For further information, go to http://www.nist.gov/baldrige.


About The Author

NIST’s picture


Founded in 1901, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a nonregulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. Headquartered in Gaithersburg, Maryland, NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.